Subject: 2024 Ephrahim Garcia Best Paper Award

Dear SMASIS Community,

On behalf of the ASME Smart Materials, Adaptive Structures and Intelligent Systems (SMASIS) Division, we are requesting nominations for the 2024 Ephrahim Garcia Best Paper Award.

The Ephrahim Garcia Best Paper Award was established in memory of Dr. Garcia's extraordinary contributions in scholarship, education, and service to the field of smart materials and adaptive structures. Before leading the Laboratory for Intelligent Machine Systems at Cornell University; Dr. Garcia was a program manager at the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency and a professor at Vanderbilt University. Amoung his numerous awards are the AIAA Abe M Zarem Advisor Award, two Merrill Presidential Scholar Advisor Recognitions, and the ASMS Adaptive Structures and Material Systems Prize in 2002. Dr. Garcia was described by colleagues as a gregareous soul with a huge heart whose numerous impactful contributions to smart materials and adaptive systems will resonate throughout the field for decades.

- Nominated papers should have a publication date between 1 January 2023 and 31 December 2023.
- Nominations for the award must be received by February 1, 2024.
- Please send nominations to Prof. Onur Bilgen (SMASIS Division Vice-Chair) at <u>o.bilgen@rutgers.edu</u>.
 Subject line must read: "SMASIS Award Nomination Ephrahim Garcia <*Nominees Full Name>*"
- Nominations may be submitted at large by any source.
- Nomination packages must consist of a pdf copy of the published paper in its final form.
- The prize consists of an ASME certificate and \$500.
- The award will be announced at the ASME Smart Materials Adaptive Structures and Intelligent Systems Conference in September 2024.
- More information and a list of previous award winners can be found at: https://www.asme.org/get-involved/technical-divisions/technical-divisions-community-pages/smasis-division#honors-and-awards.

Sincerely,

Onur Bilgen, on behalf of SMASIS Division Executive Committee Officers

Chair: Bjoern Kiefer Vice-Chair: Onur Bilgen Treasurer: Janet Sater

Vice-Treasurer: Cornel Ciocanel

Secretary: Eric Freeman