Dear SMASIS Community,

On behalf of the ASME Smart Materials, Adaptive Structures and Intelligent Systems (SMASIS) Division, we are requesting nominations for the 2024 Best Paper Award in Structural Dynamics and Control. The award, given once per year, honor original, high quality, impactful contributions to the smart materials, adaptive structures and intelligent systems field. Using these factors, nominations are ranked by a committee of subject matter experts.

- Nominated papers should have been published in journals or conference proceedings relevant to the field, with emphasis given to peer reviewed journal articles.
- Nominated papers should have a publication date between 1 January 2023 and 31 December 2023.
- SPIE and SMASIS Conference and Symposium chairs or organizers may nominate up to two papers from their respective conference or symposium.
- All nominations must be submitted by an SMASIS Division Senate member most of whom were formerly elected as ASMS Branch members.
- Each SMASIS Division Senate member can nominate only one paper, not including nominations made on behalf of a conference or symposium by chairs or organizers.
- Nominations must be received by February 1, 2024.
- Please send nominations to Prof. Onur Bilgen (SMASIS Division Vice-Chair) at <u>o.bilgen@rutgers.edu</u>.
 Subject line must read: "SMASIS Award Nomination Best Paper SDC < Nominees Full Name>"
- Nomination packages must consist of a pdf copy of the published paper in its final form.
- The award will be announced at the ASME SMASIS Conference in September 2024.
- More information and a list of previous award winners can be found at: https://www.asme.org/get-involved/groups-sections-and-technical-divisions/technical-divisions/technical-divisions-community-pages/smasis-division#honors-and-awards
- Each award consists of an ASME certificate and \$500 honorarium.

Sincerely,

Onur Bilgen, on behalf of SMASIS Division Executive Committee Officers

Chair: Bjoern Kiefer Vice-Chair: Onur Bilgen Treasurer: Janet Sater

Vice-Treasurer: Cornel Ciocanel

Secretary: Eric Freeman