Subject: 2024 Gary Anderson Early Achievement Award

Dear SMASIS Community,

On behalf of the ASME Smart Materials, Adaptive Structures and Intelligent Systems (SMASIS) Division, we are requesting nominations for the 2024 Gary Anderson Early Achievement Award.

The Gary Anderson Early Achievement Award is given annually by the ASME SMASIS Division for notable contribution(s) to the field of Adaptive Structures and Material Systems. The prize is awarded to a junior researcher in his or her ascendancy whose work has already had an impact in his/her field within Adaptive Structures and Material Systems. The award is named after Dr. Gary L. Anderson, who through his work at the Army Research Office, helped establish the field of adaptive structures and material systems and supported the careers of many young researchers in the field.

- Nominees must be within 7 calendar years of their terminal degree as of 31 December 2023. 2024 nominees should therefore have received their terminal degree no earlier than 1 January 2016 to be considered.
- Nominations for the award must be received by February 1, 2024.
- Please send nominations to Prof. Onur Bilgen (SMASIS Division Vice-Chair) at <u>o.bilgen@rutgers.edu</u> Subject line must read: "SMASIS Award Nomination – Gary Anderson - <Nominees Full Name>"
- Nominations will be evaluated by the past five winners and the Division Executive Committee Officers.
- The award decision is based on the extent of the nominee's contribution(s) to the field of Smart Materials, Adaptive Structures and Intelligent Systems.
- Nominations may be submitted at large by any source.
- Nomination packages must consist of a nomination letter and a current curriculum vitae. Enumeration of the nominee's impact should also be included in the nomination letter.
- The prize consists of an ASME certificate and \$1,000.
- The award will be conferred at the ASME SMASIS conference in September 2024.
- More information and a list of previous award winners can be found at: <u>https://www.asme.org/about-asme/honors-awards/unit-awards/gary-anderson-early-achievement-award</u>

Sincerely,

Onur Bilgen,

on behalf of SMASIS Division Executive Committee Officers

Chair: Bjoern Kiefer Vice-Chair: Onur Bilgen Treasurer: Janet Sater Vice-Treasurer: Cornel Ciocanel Secretary: Eric Freeman